How I Met Your Mother: Finale

Alright, here is my big confession, I LOVE TV.  I love it.  I am completely obsessed with TV.  Now that I have a baby,  I do not get as much time to watch as I’d like, but I still make it a point to sneak in a show or two before bedtime.  Last night we watched the series finale of How I Met Your Mother (HIMYM).  I have a lot of thoughts about it, but my brain cannot get over the mother.  The mother haunts me.

**SPOILERS**

When the episode “How Your Mother Met Me” finished airing.  I was a wreck.  How unfair for this show to give the lives of Marshall, Lily, Ted, and Robin such a seemingly happy story lines (excluding the breakup, Marshall’s father, and Robin’s infertility… fine, maybe there were some really sad times), but give the mother this horrible, traumatic loss of her one true love, on her birthday?  I know that life is unfair, and HIMYM has never shied away from bringing real life problems into their show, which I admire, but this was heartbreaking.  I figured that it was okay because she is going to meet Ted and have babies and a perfect life, so she will get her fairy tale life, but then the show kills us again.  They kill the mother after just ten years with Ted.  Ten years, and two children, and she dies of a sickness of some type.

Why is her story so sad?  Why would the creators make a show revolving around this mysterious mother, just to show us a woman who is amazing, but has suffered so much, and then doesn’t even get to watch her children grow up?  Just so we can see Ted and Robin end up together?  So we could see that blue french horn one more time?  I’m not sure how other fans feel about this, but the mother got an unfair deal, and I cannot help thinking that Ted was always in love with Robin, even while married to the mother.  Was he just with the mother because Robin had denied him so many times?  Because of his friendship with Barney?  Because Ted wanted to have children and couldn’t with Robin?  Was the mother just a womb?  Did the mother lose her true love, marry someone who wasn’t completely in love with her, have two children she loved, and then not get to experience a long, full life?

How could this have been their major plan?  Were they hoping we’d all overlook the mother?  “It’s Robin, be happy!  Forget that mother lady….”  No!  Shame on you, creators.  Shame on you for making us wonder who this beautiful lady was for nine seasons, then taking her away from us just to give us that damn blue french horn again.

Now go to your room…. I don’t want to see you again!

Leave a comment